Disconnect

Feeling rather disconnected.  I know things logically, but the emotional me doesn’t agree.  I spose that’s normal, but the gulf seems rather larger than normal.  Still doing dumb stuff like bursting into tears at inane moments.

I’m worried about Christmas- everytime I think of it I just want to hide.  I don’t want to go to my extended family Christmas shindig.  I just don’t have the emotional energy to cope with all the ‘stuff’ that comes with it, and frankly I really can’t be bothered.

I just wrote in Claire’s blog about making adult choices… talk about words coming back to hit you in the face.

I realised this last week that I really don’t like myself.  In fact I don’t know a time when I have liked myself.  Self worth, self image… call it what you will.  I don’t like me.  My cultural tapes (the words that run round my head) say put God first, others next and yourself last.  That’s what I do (some of the time).  Am really good at putting myself last.  And I’m really good at behaving in ways that validate the ‘I’m no good’ tape.

I’m not putting this into words very well.  But here’s the disconnect again- I know (in my head) what I need to do about it, but the emotional won’t follow the lead.

2 responses to “Disconnect

  1. Hey Janie.. Thanks for your comment. I hate that i complain in my blog. Its just i cant find anything happy to say. I dont think anyone really loves themselves. Sometimes i think that i dont like myself but when i think deeply about it. . i just realise that i hate how i treat myself. I love you jane.. and i love the person you are. I hope you know that so many people love you and are hear for you. Lub Claire
    Ps. U owe me a coffee date

  2. I reckon it’s ok to complain- but it’s what you do with them that counts.

    Jane

Leave a Reply

