Another week goes by…

A lot’s happened since my last post.  I’ve had a busy week- but what’s new?  That’s the way my life usually goes.  Most of the time I enjoy the variety and fast pace, but every now and then my body crashes.  The end of last week was one of those ‘crash’ times, and even today I still feel like I’m trying to catch up with the world.

I went to another funeral last Wednesday (two funerals and a wedding in a week).  But this one was different.  Such a contrast to the first funeral.  The middle section of Scotch College chapel was absolutely full.  And it was a celebration- a celebration of a life well lived and a beautiful but quirky sense of humour.  But this funeral was more personal to me, even more than I expected.

Di was a friend of  my mum.  They nursed together at Memorial Hospital and formed a strong friendship that survived marriage, family and 3 continents.  We used to do things together with her family and had some great times together.

I’ve been thinking about why her passing has affected me more than I thought it would.  I’ve been talking (via blogs) to my brother and sister about this too.  And I’ve come to the conclusion that it has something to do with the fact that she was mum’s age, and that I had wanted to get to know her on an adult level.  I admired Di greatly and her friendship with mum.

It has taken me so long to ‘grow up’ and feel like I can interact with mum and dad’s friends as an adult. 

I don’t know.  It’s still a little bit too fresh and new. 

Leave a Reply

